Infrastructure Part 1 agreement: Bipartisan surface transportation 

June 27, 2021

Thursday yielded an announcement from President Biden that he is in support of a bipartisan surface transportation bill negotiated by a group of 20 Senators. While positive, this in no way signals a conclusion to the infrastructure debate. The bipartisan plan is focused on core infrastructure which has alienated the “progressive democratic” members who are focused on energy and “human infrastructure” priorities. The published understanding from within the Democratic party is that there will be two bills simultaneously working through congress, a funding-focused “reconciliation” process for these non-bipartisan areas. There was high drama over the weekend because of some of the comments by the President on Thursday, but this seems to have been mostly resolved and when Congress returns from their July 4th break, the hard work will get started and more specific will be released.

Biden: 'We have a deal' on infrastructure with bipartisan group of senators - CNNPolitics

Of interest is the list of Senators who are named at contributing to the bipartisan efforts: The 10 Senate Democratic caucus members who support the infrastructure deal are Joe Manchin (WV), Jeanne Shaheen and Maggie Hassan (NH), Kyrsten Sinema and Mark Kelly (AZ), Jon Tester (MT), Mark Warner (VA), Chris Coons (DE), and John Hickenlooper (CO). Angus King (ME), an independent who caucuses with the Democrats, also endorsed the plan. The 11 Republicans are: Lisa Murkowski (AK), Susan Collins (ME), Rob Portman (OH), Bill Cassidy (LA), Mitt Romney (UT), Richard Burr and Thom Tillis (NC), Lindsey Graham (SC), Mike Rounds (SD), Todd Young (IN) and Jerry Moran (KS).